Incredible 1950s archive footage showing the earlier days of the Ffestiniog Railway.(Waleonline)

The fascinating footage shows footage of a 1956 promotional video of a journey from Porthmadog to Minffordd

  • Posted On: 3 February 2019

Fascinating archive footage of a historic narrow gauge railway's early days of preservation have emerged.

The Ffestiniog Railway was first opened in the 1830s to carry slate from the quarries of Blaenau Ffestiniog to the wharves of Porthmadog for export to all four corners of the world.

The 13-mile railway was an innovator being amongst the first to introduce steam locomotives which were especially built to haul heavy trains on the line's tight corners.

But when the slate industry declined the line fell into disuse officially closing in 1946

However in the early 1950s enthusiasts gathered together with a view to reopening the line as a visitor attraction and trains began running from Porthmadog's Harbour station across the Cob to Boston Lodge in July 1955.

Watch the footage HERE

Categories: News